Positivity

New Year’s Resolutions

Hellooooo 2017! Here’s hoping you’re sweeter to us than 2016 ever was. And maybe it’s just me but doesn’t it feel like 2007 was only 3 years ago?! The older you get, the faster time seems to move.

Whilst I realise that the only real difference between 31st December 2016 and 1st January 2017 is the seconds that separate them, that doesn’t stop me (or almost everyone else for that matter) from using the coming of the new year as an excuse to have a fresh start. Here’s what I’m challenging myself to this year:

  1. LOVE MYSELF MORE❤️ – This one’s first for a reason. I heard the saying ‘treat yourself as you would a friend’ and I don’t know about you, but I have never looked at a friend with disdain before going onto list every single flaw they have. I’ve hated myself for far too long; I’ve been loving myself for 18 days and life is already so damn good. If you’ve been a lil’ hard on yourself lately, take this post as your message from the universe to be kinder to yourself!
  2. LEARN A NEW LANGUAGE📝 – Spanish, if you were wondering. Learning a new language is one of the most rewarding things you can ever do, and it never feels like hard work. What’s more, mistakes are often funny (for example ‘je suis un problème’) rather than frustrating – like they are in maths. Not only do you enhance your career prospects, you open up a whole new culture, or even numerous cultures, to explore.
  3. KEEP FIT🏋🏻‍♀️ – Okay, you probably sighed when you read that, but hear me out. I’m not saying that I want to suddenly become an athlete or a bodybuilder, I’m trying to be realistic here; eating healthier and incorporating exercise into your usual routine whenever you’ve got a bit of spare time, even if it is only 10 minutes, isn’t as hard as we make it out to be (that’s what I’m telling myself anyway, eventually I’ll believe it). Plus, working out and looking after your body makes you feel good annnnd look good. It’s a win-win.
  4. VISIT AT LEAST TWO NEW COUNTRIES🌍 – This one’s probably the most difficult to achieve as it depends on my bank balance as much as it depends on my proactiveness (is that a word? It should be). Besides, what’s the point in speaking languages other than your native tongue if you’re not going to practice them?
  5. SMILE MORE😁 – I’m thinking that this one will be slightly less relatable than the others, but for me it’s the most important. One jaw surgery and six years of impatient insecurity later, this is the year I finally get braces. My excitement is comparable to the excitement of 10 small children on Christmas morning combined. Unfortunately, it took me to the entirety of those 6 years to realise that a) my teeth aren’t as bad as I think and b) the people that are worth having around don’t care what your teeth look like anyway.

You may have noticed that I’ve been gone for a little while. This was intentional, I’d lost sight of what my blog was really for; in short I had become more focussed on writing what I thought would be popular instead of just writing whatever I felt like writing at the time, which really took the fun out of blogging.

Anyway, I’m back! And (hopefully) better than before.

Let me know what your 2017 resolutions/goals are in the comments!


Find me on social media:

 

15 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I’m really happy that you’ve found your true calling to keep writing. In terms of traveling other countries, go for it! Believe me, saving up most of your money for a trip is very worthy of an unforgettable experience. Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your first two are on my list too. I think love yourself and otherwise how can you expect others to. I’ve started a bit of Spanish I’m not sure how far I’ll get. Got to stick with it. Good luck with keeping to yours and here’s to a fab 2017 for you 💗 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

