books

(Not Quite a) Reading List

There is more to life than books filled with fiction and make-believe, apparently. Yes, there are also books out there that are filled with inspirational quotes, life advice, wisdom, and even colouring pages. I’m talking about the kind of novelty books that you pick up in shops like Urban Outfitters and think ‘This seems kind of fun, and absolutely ridiculous and a waste of money.. But I’m going to buy it anyway!’ (or maybe that’s just me?) and then you take them home and love them like you would any other type of book; not a waste of money after all! Here’s five such books that I think are really great:

  1. QUIET POWER by Susan CainI love this book, I really do. I feel like quietness is often looked on as a bad thing, this book is filled with all the reasons why it shouldn’t be. Speaking from experience, quiet children are often asked ‘why are you so quiet?’ told they should ‘talk more’ and sometimes made to feel that there is something wrong with being a quiet person. Susan Cain addresses this, recognising that introverts have just as much to offer as extroverts do.
  2. HIRAMEKI by Peng + HuThis particular book got itself a special mention in my August Favourites post. Two mentions must mean it’s extra great, right? I spend a lot of time doodling, often on things I shouldn’t (just so that doesn’t sound so strange, I should explain that I mean things like bank statements, not other peoples’ faces or whatever) so having a book entirely filled with pages for doodling is pretty cool. 
  3. 642 THINGS TO WRITE ABOUT by The San Francisco Writers’ GrottoThis is a book filled with writing prompts, 642, to be exact. Why 642? Even it’s creators don’t know the answer to that. The prompts are great for when you need a lil’ inspiration, and help you to see things from a different perspective, to think outside the box.
  4. TRAVEL LISTOGRAPHY by Lisa NolaIf you’re anything like me: you love to travel, you make a lot of lists and you like to document the best moments of your life in writing or with photos (wow, I bet I’ve really sold myself to you there) then you might just love this book. Each page has it’s own section (for example: Europe) with space to write where you’ve been, who you’ve met, where you’d like to go, what you’d like to see and what your favourite memories were. Yes, you could very easily make something like this yourself, but would it be as pretty or organised? Probably not, in my case anyway.
  5. HOW TO BE PARISIAN by Sophie Mas, Audrey Diwan, Caroline de Maigret and Anne Berest.Unless you live under a rock (hey, I’m not here to judge if you do, Patrick) then you’ve probably heard of, or at least seen photos (albeit more aesthetically pleasing than the one I have taken) of, this amusing book. Four successful Parisiennes came together to create a book to inform us all of ‘what it really means to be a Parisienne in the 21st Century’, and the result was brilliant.

Have you read/used any of these books? Do you have any recommendations?

17 thoughts on “(Not Quite a) Reading List

  1. I have quiet but I haven’t read it yet, I want to but for some reason it’s been on my TBR shelf for 6 months :S I also have 642 things to write about and that is very fun, it’s a great way to get out of a writing slump or for just getting the creative juices going 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Quiet Power looks like something i’d definitely love to read!
    It’s a common misjudgment for we introverts, and as you grow up with it, people who don’t understand why start to presume you’re snobbish or egoistic — at least I get that a lot

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I love ‘How to be Parisian’ ! May have to have a little look at the others too! I love books like these! (but i’m totally with you on the ‘i don’t need it, shouldn’t buy it, but I’m going to anyway’ !)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

