beauty

My Skincare Routine

Whether you have oily skin, dry skin, normal skin or combination skin, it’s always a good idea to have a routine that’s perfect for you. The first step to healthy skin is self care: a good diet, plenty of water and enough sleep. However, as an acne sufferer, I know it is not always that easy to get your skin looking clear and glowing. 

Morning: 

  • I start every day using my Hydra-Blast Skin Perfecting Wash (for sensitive skin) by Clearasil. It’s so gentle on my skin and keeps my spots at bay.
  • Afterwards, I use the St. Ives blemish fighting Apricot Scrub to exfoliate my face. I usually do this every other day so as not to irritate my skin. The ingredients are mostly natural, meaning the product smells great too.
  • I then apply my Seaweed Oil-Balancing Toner by The Body Shop to prevent my skin from becoming excessively oily throughout the day.
  • When it comes to moisturising my face, I do sometimes skip moisturiser during the summer months as I feel my Nivea Anti-Age Face Sun Cream does the trick (will I ever make a blog post where I don’t mention sun cream?!). If I do apply moisturiser, I swear by my Oil-Free Moisturiser by Neutrogena.


Evening:

  • As I often wear makeup during the day, I tend to start my routine with a makeup wipe. 
  • I then use Cetaphil‘s cleanser as it’s so gentle on the skin, to remove any makeup that’s been left behind. When I feel like pampering myself, I opt for my Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter (it really is heavenly) by The Body Shop.
  • I often use the same face wash at night as I do in the morning (the one by Clearasil) however, a few nights a week I swap it for Clean&Clear‘s Deep Action Cream Wash to really unclog my pores.
  • At night, I think it’s okay to use a heavier moisturiser so I go for the Vitamin E Moisture Cream from The Body Shop.


Once a week, I like to use a face mask. My current favourite is the 3-in-1 Deep Purifying Scrub Mask in Blue Corn, yet another product by The Body Shop

Though I do change my skincare routine seasonally (as my skin becomes drier and more sensitive in the colder months!) I do try to keep it consistent and keep the number of products I use to a minimum. Overloading your face with products can do more harm than good.

2 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

